Plenary Talks

Dr. James C. Liao is Ralph M. Parsons Foundation Professor and Department Chair of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering of UCLA. He received numerous awards and recognitions, including the Presidential Green Chemistry Challenge Award (2010), the White House Champion of Change” for innovations in renewable energy (2012), the ENI Renewable Energy Prize (2013), and the National Academy of Sciences Award for the Industrial Application of Science (2014). He is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering and National Academy of Sciences. In June 2016, Dr. Liao was named the President of Academia Sinica, Taiwan.

Title: Re-design of metabolism for carbon conservation

UCLA School of Engineering - Portrait of Professor James C. Laio. UCLA, Los Angeles, CA. Laio_James_C_019.NEF February 5th, 2013 Copyright Don Liebig/ASUCLA


Dr. Joanna Aizenberg pursues a broad range of research interests that include biomimetics, smart materials, wetting phenomena, bio-nano interfaces, self-assembly, crystal engineering, surface chemistry, structural color and biomineralization. She received the B.S. degree in Chemistry in 1981, the M.S. degree in Physical Chemistry in 1984 from Moscow State University, and the Ph.D. degree in Structural Biology from the Weizmann Institute of Science in 1996.

After spending nearly a decade at Bell Labs, Joanna joined Harvard University, where she is the Amy Smith Berylson Professor of Materials Science, Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Director of the Kavli Institute for Bionano Science and Technology and Platform Leader in the Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering. The Aizenberg lab’s research is aimed at understanding some of the basic principles of biological architectures and the economy with which biology solves complex problems in the design of multifunctional, adaptive materials. She then uses biological principles as guidance in developing new, bio-inspired synthetic routes and nanofabrication strategies that would lead to advanced materials and devices, with broad implications in fields ranging from architecture to energy efficiency to medicine.

Aizenberg is elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, American Philosophical Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science; and she is a Fellow of American Physical Society and Materials Research Society. Dr. Aizenberg received numerous awards from the American Chemical Society and Materials Research Society, including Fred Kavli Distinguished Lectureship in Nanoscience, Ronald Breslow Award for the Achievement in Biomimetic Chemistry, Arthur K. Doolittle Award in Polymeric Materials, ACS Industrial Innovation Award, and was recognized with two R&D 100 Awards for best innovations in 2012 and 2013 for the invention of a novel class of omniphobic materials and watermark ink technologies. In 2015 she received Harvard’s most prestigious Ledlie Prize that is awarded for the most valuable contribution to science made by a Harvard scientist.

Joanna has served at the Board of Directors of the Materials Research Society and at the Board on Physics and Astronomy of the National Academies. She served on the Advisory Board of Langmuir and Chemistry of Materials, on Board of Reviewing Editors of Science Magazine, and is an Editorial Board Member of Advanced Materials.

Title: Say ‘no’ to biofouling: Slippery coatings that resist adhesion of biological matter

joanna aizenberg


Dr. Adrian Ionescu is a Full Professor at Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland. He received the B.S. &M.S. in Electronics and Telecommunications in 1989 from the University ‘Politehnica’ Bucharest (former Polytechnic Institute), Romania. He holds two PhDs: in  Microelectronics, from University ‘Politehnica’ Bucharest (1994) and in Physics of semiconductor devices from the National Polytechnic Institute of Grenoble, France (1997). He held staff and/or visiting positions at LETI‐Commissariat à l’Énergie Atomique, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), and Stanford University, Stanford, in 1998 and 1999. He was a Invited Professor with the Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan, in 2012 and 2016.

He is the founder and director of the Nanoelectronic Devices Laboratory (Nanolab: of EPFL. Prof. Ionescu served as Director of the Doctoral Program in Microsystems and Microelectronics of EPFL and Director of the former Institute of Microsystems and microelectronics of EPFL. His nanoelectronics research deals with beyond CMOS and More-Than Moore devices and technologies. His group pioneered steep slope transistors (tunnel FETs and ferroelectric FETs), MEMS and NEMS devices with main emphasis on low power resonator concepts (vibrating body transistors) in order to achieve novel energy efficient digital, analog, radio frequency and low power sensing functions.

Prof. Ionescu has published more than 500 articles in international journals and conference proceedings. He is the recipient of IBM Faculty Award 2013 for contributions to the Engineering of the André Blondel Medal 2009 of the Society of Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Paris, France.

He is an IEEE Fellow and a member of the Swiss Academy of Sciences (SATW). In 2015 he received the Outstanding Achievement Award of SATW for the successful coordination and delivery of the first Swiss Technology Outlook, a document that summarizes the work of multi‐disciplinary team of experts and provides clear recommendations for decision‐makers in the political and Swiss economic world.

In 2016 he received the Advanced ERC (European Research Council) Grant to develop a 5-year research programs aiming at 100 millivolt switches and sensors for Internet-of-Things.

Title: Low power micro- and nano-systems: key enabling technologies for paradigm-shifts in future IoT Healthcare