Conference Awards

  • Winners

Best Conference Paper Award

“The “Climate” System: Nano-Reactor for in-situ Analysis of Solid-Gas Interactions Inside the TEM”, Hector Hugo Pérez-Garza, Diederik Morsink, Jeff Xu, Mariya Sholkina, Yevheniy Pivak, Merijn Pen, Sander van Weperen, Qiang Xu, DENSsolutions, Netherlands

Best Student Paper Award

“Thermally Robust Coupled Mode at Mid IR Mediated by Highly Dense Plasmonic Nanostructure”, Dihan Hasan, Prakash Pitchappa, Chong Pei Ho, Chengkuo Lee, National University of Singapore, Singapore

CM HO Best Paper Award in Micro/Nano Fluidics

“Long-Range Electrokinetic Fluid Motion for Rapid Pathogen Identification and Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing”, Yi Lu{2}, Siu Ling Leung{2}, Jian Gao{2}, Vincent Gau{1}, Joseph Liao{3}, Pak Kin Wong{2}, {1}Genefluidics, Inc., United States; {2}Pennsylvania State University, United States; {3}Stanford, University, United States

Best Conference Poster Award

“Sharp Photoluminessence from Localized Excitons in Monolayer Tungsten Disulfide”, Toshiaki Kato, Toshiro Kaneko, Tohoku University, Japan


Best Paper Award Selections

Authors may nominate their original paper to enter the Best Paper Awards competition submitting their 4 to 6 pages of full paper online before/on the deadline of abstract submission. The original research paper provided that the first author and primary developer of the ideas contained in the paper is a student can be also considered for the Best Student Paper Award.


There are the special sessions for the award finalists. All the award committee members are the judges for selecting the winners of the best conference paper award and best student paper award. They will attend each presentation and evaluate each finalist’s performance according to the following evaluation criteria: (1) originality, technical strength and potential impact on the field, and (2) clarity of oral presentation and Q&A performance at the conference.


Additionally, the CM HO Best Paper in Micro/Nano Fluidics will be selected from the special award session of “Microfluidics and Nanofluidics”. There is no exclusivity for the awards, i.e., it is possible that your paper can be nominated as a finalist for 3 awards. Authors who are currently performing research in any labs/organizations directed by Prof. Chih-Ming HO is NOT eligible to receive this award.


Best Conference Poster Award Selection

All accepted posters presented at the conference are eligible for the Best Conference Poster Award. The contents presented at the poster sessions should be of original research results. The several conference posters will be selected by the sub-committee, appointed by the award committee, based on the following criteria; (a) The Poster’s adherence to the poster design rules set by the conference, (b) Technical merit and presentation of the poster, (c) Q/A performance during poster sessions.


The awards winners will be announced at the closing session, and receive a certificate and an anniversary gift.